St. Louis Cemetery No. 1, New Orleans

Last month, I made my first visit to New Orleans for a bachelor party weekend (not my own). I long had sought to visit the city because of its well known historic architecture, but I had no idea there were so many remaining resources.

I was in the city fewer than 48 hours and spent most of that time doing what most people do in New Orleans (Lafitte’s Blacksmith Shop is a must stop for an early American bar experience), so besides wandering around the French Quarter and Faubourg Marigny I didn’t get to see much. But I knew if there was one place I had to go before I left  it had to be St. Louis Cemetery No. 1, the oldest remaining cemetery in the city and the location of the acid trip scene in “Easy Rider.”







The tomb of Marie Laveau, rumored to be a voodoo queen.

Yours truly, blending in.

1 Comment

Filed under Cemetery

One response to “St. Louis Cemetery No. 1, New Orleans

  1. Pingback: Two Year Anniversary | Gator Preservationist

Leave a Reply

